Re: Steering play adjustment

Staging area for content imported from the old Yahoo group. This forum is LOCKED. Moderators may edit content and relocate to other forums as appropriate.
taknoff

Steering play adjustment

Post by taknoff »

Just brought 2000 30' sahara pusher  with 300hp cat. Wanders on the road, checked out steering box has a lot of slopp in it before pitman arm moves . Is there an adjustment bolt to tighten it up ?
Greg
paulcell47

Post by paulcell47 »

I have been driving a '99  thirty foot for 12 years. It still wanders all over. It is because the front end is too light. There is no adjustment on the steering box. You can put on a Steer Safe, or a stabilizer, both of which will help a little. Weigh the front end and set the air pressure at the proper pressure, not too high. It should have two stabilizing arms in front of the axel. Then, just get used to it!

To: Safarifriends@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Friday, September 13, 2013 6:47:59 AM
Subject: [Safarifriends] Steering  play adjustment

Just brought 2000 30' sahara pusher  with 300hp cat. Wanders on the road, checked out steering box has a lot of slopp in it before pitman arm moves . Is there an adjustment bolt to tighten it up ?
Greg
Gary Smith

Post by Gary Smith »

The original factory solution was to add a substantial amount of dead weight to the front end.  Not sure of amount, but was several hundred pounds of steel.  Maybe someone has the details to share? Gary   From: nanandpete@... Sent: Friday, September 13, 2013 10:58 AM To: Safarifriends@yahoogroups.com Subject: Re: [Safarifriends] Steering play adjustment