Updating MagneTek 6345 power converter

Forum for both AC and DC electrical components. From engine alternator to dashboard, inverter to batteries, and everything electrical in-between.
curry

Updating MagneTek 6345 power converter

Post by curry »

So I broke my hip last winter and my RV sat all winter plugged in. I have a 1998 Safari 24 foot Class C. It ended up frying my batteries, and the power converter a MagneTek 6345 got so hot that the fan ran until it died. Now the unit won't charge my new batteries and I have no 12v power unless I'm hooked up to a land line. So reading upon this I found out that MagneTek is now Parallax and they still make replacement parts for this unit as they were put in many if not most Rvs in the 90s. So after more than two weeks with FedEx it finally has arrived. Has anyone here replaced the lower unit of one of these MagneTek power converters?
My major issue is the existing unit. I know that Safari got rather haphazard in the time period when ours was made. That has led to a lot of repairs. Has anyone had to pull one of these out? Can I assume that there is enough wire behind it that I can pull it all of the way out? Right now I can only move it about four inches. I can't figure out how to get to the back of the unit. There is a cabinet above it. The furnace is to the left, and drawers are to the right.
If you have any answers please let me know. There ought to be some access, but so far I haven't found it. Any help will be appreciated.
TDJohn

Re: Updating MagneTek 6345 power converter

Post by TDJohn »

Maybe remove the drawer and see if you have visual or physical access to see what is keeping the converter from being removed.

BTW, maybe consider an upgrade, either installing a modern smart converter, or better yet, an inverter charger, to charge your batteries. The latter would allow you to charge your batteries in a more effective way, and to have 120v while boondocking, without needing to run your generator.